Eagle Rock's Oinkster
 A visit to the nearby town of Eagle Rock, California brought my boyfriend and I to Oinkster, a hip and hopping place that touts itself as a “slow fast food” eatery.  This basically means that they serve “gourmet quality” food at fast food prices in a casual atmosphere.  I loved the retro look of Oinkster with its big, bright, neon sign and the comfortable, red leather booths.  Don’t expect fine china or silverware here. Instead, you order at the counter, take a number, find a table, and your food will be delivered to you by one of the wait staff. The menu consists of a wide variety to choose from including pastrami sandwiches, pulled pork, burgers, salads, and rotisserie chicken. They even have some yummy looking desserts like PBJ cupcakes! I decided on the pulled pork sandwich and my boyfriend chose a hamburger, cooked medium-rare. It was a Saturday and the place was indeed busy so our order took awhile to get to us. My stomach was growling and I was getting a tad impatient, but I enjoyed the people-watching and peeking at the other orders whizzing by me. Finally, my pulled pork arrived.  I had expected and pictured a messy mess of pork sopping with barbeque sauce but instead, the sandwich consisted of a French roll with neatly stacked pulled pork and red cabbage slaw inside. No sauce to be found on the plate. I grabbed some of the “Carolina BBQ sauce” on the condiment counter and slathered some on my sandwich. After taking a couple bites I thought the sandwich was just okay. The meat itself was a little on the dry side and really didn’t have a lot of flavor despite being brined in a honey and soy mixture as the menu stated. The BBQ sauce was also not to my liking,being a little more on the watery side and a bit strong on the vinegar.  I did enjoy the fact that the sandwich was dipped in what appeared to be an au jus sauce which reminded me of the delicious sandwiches from Phillipe’s in downtown LA. My boyfriend on the other hand, enjoyed his burger, cooked perfectly to his liking. The meat was juicy and flavorful and ranked a close second to his all time favorite burger from Carney’s in Hollywood. This was my second visit to Oinkster and my boyfriend’s first. Will there be a third visit for me? Probably not. Though I loved the environment and the funky atmosphere, the food did not impress. Though I might have to go back for that PBJ cupcake.
Oinkster
2005 Colorado Blvd.
Eagle Rock, CA
Tel: 323-255-oink

hpim0710hpim0711

