Cranberry Streusel Cake--up close!

Cranberry Streusel Cake--up close!

Since fresh cranberries are not always available year-round, I like buying extra bags during the peak months and storing them in my freezer. This comes in handy when I find a recipe like this one, a cranberry streusal cake from Food and Wine magazine. I love cranberries in all shapes and forms whether it’s as a sauce or in muffins, or in their dried form added to trail mix.  Cranberries are sweet and tangy and offer some wonderful health benefits, being high in antioxidants and in anti-bacterial activity. This cake was simple to put together and the end result was delicious and rich.  It’s even more decadent with some vanilla ice cream or whipped cream on top.  I also loved the fact that you can make this dessert a couple days before serving. Enjoy!

 

