064Okay, I know that I have been blogging-delinquent for the past, uh, couple of months or so.  But,  I have a good excuse.   I needed to take a break from blogging.  That’s it.  I didn’t run off to have a baby or move to another country or suddenly become computer illiterate.  Nope.  Just needed a little break is all.  And now that I’ve had my blogging hiatus, I’m ready to go to it again!  For this post, I’d love to share with you a  visit I took to Hot Doug’s, the self proclaimed Sausage Superstore and Encased Meat Emporium  in Chicago.  My BF was born and raised in Chicago but surprisingly, he had never even heard of Hot Doug’s which was recently profiled in Anthony Bourdain’s Travel channel show as well as being written up in a slew of other publications.  Of course, when you’re in Chicago you have to indulge in a good dog, right?  Well, I’d describe Hot Doug’s dog not only as pretty darn good, but also as pretty darn creative and unique.  I mean, where else can you eat a hot dog made from foie gras and sauternes duck sausage with truffle sauce?   I enjoyed the 4 succulent slices of foie gras set atop the duck sausage which were neatly tucked away on a softest bun I think I’ve ever eaten.  We also ordered Doug’s Chicago-Style hot dog that had all the trimmings including the familiar neon-green sweet pickle relish, tomato slices, mustard, and a pickle spear.   What else can I say? Maybe that I’m looking forward to my next trip to the Windy City and another stop at Hot Doug’s.

Take a bite!

Take a bite!

Foie Gras Hot Dog

