015Every time I opened my refrigerator door, a humongous bottle of barely-touched applesauce would coldly stare back at me.  After buying such a big, family-sized bottle for a family with only one applesauce eater (me), I think I’ve learned my lesson.  Note to self: buy smaller bottle next time. Luckily, I’m the type of person who makes lemon bars out of lemons, so I was not going to let some extra applesauce get to me.  I decided to search Allrecipes.com for a fun way to incorporate the applesauce into a luscious-bakedsomething-or-other, and after perusing the various applesauce cakes, breads, and muffins, I found what I was looking for.   The original recipe was for an applesauce bread but with a few modifications of my own, I was able to create a moist and delicious applesauce hazelnut prune muffin.   If you’re not too fond of prunes you can always substitute another dried fruit of your choice or leave them out all together.  I personally like  the taste of prunes and in these muffins, they add a nice tartness.  Top them off with a little cream cheese or my favorite, peanut butter, and you’ve got breakfast to go.

Applesauce Hazelnut Prune Muffins–adapted from www.Allrecipes.Com (makes about 14 regular size muffins or 28 mini muffins)

Ingredients:

1 cup whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1 extra large egg

1 cups sucanat (or granulated white sugar) 

1/4  cup canola oil

1 cup applesauce

1/2 cup coarsely chopped prunes (optional)

1/2 cup coarsely chopped toasted hazelnuts (can also use pecans or walnuts)

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/8 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 cup plain, non-fat yogurt


Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour a 12 cup muffin tin or a 24 cup mini muffin tin.
  • Beat together eggs, sugar, and oil. Blend in applesauce, and then yogurt. Mix in flour, baking powder, soda, and cinnamon. Stir in prunes and hazelnuts. Pour batter into prepared pans.
  • Bake for 18-20 minutes if using  a 12 cup muffin tin or 16-18 minutes if using the mini muffin tin (ovens will tend to vary on baking times)
  • Cool on wire racks.
  • Advertisements