012I stumbled across this brownie recipe on the Chowhound website.  Perfect timing too since I was craving brownies and had the urge to do some baking last night.  I got a late start making these ( it was pretty close to my bedtime), but it’s a simple recipe, and you’ll be in and out of the kitchen in no time.  I especially love recipes where I don’t need to use my electric mixer–less cleanup!  This is one of them.  If you like your brownies dense, thick and fudgey, with a mixture of cakey-chewiness to it, then I think this is the brownie recipe you’ve been looking for.  Also, did I mention how intense in flavor they are?  The recipe actually calls for bittersweet chocolate (not the unsweetened kind), but I used a combination of  unsweetened and sweetened (I used a Scharffen Berger 99% cacao bar and Trader Joe’s 72% dark chocolate).  I also omitted the shot of espresso (didn’t have any), which is supposed to enhance the chocolate flavor even more.  A couple other notes: I added about 3/4 cup chopped pecans and 1/4 cup cocoa nibs, and make sure you don’t over- bake these.  Mine cooked for about 26 minutes and then I took the pan out of the oven, allowing it to cool overnight before cutting into them.  Enjoy! (Recipe here)

