Soft pretzelsBelieve it or not, these are pretzels.  I seem to lack the gene that enables one to twist pretzel dough into that familiar, intertwined state that we all know and love.  Oh well.  On the other hand, these did taste like a soft pretzel , and I think that’s much more important than appearances, don’t you?

What I did very early this morning was break out my box of organic soft pretzel mix by a company called Wanda’s Nature Farm Foods.  Let me explain: many, many months ago, like around Christmas time 2008, my sweet then-six year old niece was having one of those school fundraisers.  You know, when the parents come around with their magazine-catalog that are full of things you’d probably never, ever need or use in your life but you buy anyway because you want to be supportive to those cute six year olds?  Okay, that’s just what happened.  I couldn’t for the life of me find anything I really wanted in that catalog so I settled for this pretzel mix and some cookie-cutter gizmo that has since broke.  So that’s the story.  This mix has been sitting in my kitchen cupboard  for that long, screaming to be baked.  Luckily the expiration date wasn’t til January 2010 so out of the cupboard it went, straight into the mixing bowl, along with some yeast (included in the box), and 1 cup of water.  That’s all there was to it.  Oh, some mixing and kneading and allowing to rest for 30 minutes of course.  Then I attempted to make a pretzel-looking something, dipped each one into a baking soda-water bath, and baked them for about 15 minutes.  Right out of the oven, I glazed the pretzels with melted butter and sprinkled either sea salt or a cinnamon sugary mixture on top.  Yes, these were pretty good for a soft pretzel that came from a boxed mix, but  I think it lacked a little of that chewy factor that I really like.  If you’d like to make your own soft pretzels, check out this homemade recipe I posted previously:http://pbjonrye.blogspot.com/2007/12/ode-to-carbshomemade-pretzels.html

 Pretzel mix

