When I made these almond bars for the first time, I was a little disappointed.  I was expecting something on the chewy and gooey end of the spectrum,  more like a brownie or a blondie.   Instead, these bars came out a little on the drier, more crumbly side.  My boyfriend  commented that they reminded him of a biscotti.  Interestingly, like biscotti, this recipe is also of Italian origin, and also like the biscotti, these bars are a perfect accompaniment to a big mug of hot coffee or tea.  The lovely almond flavor intensified after a day or two,  and the dense, crumbly texture grew on me .  Yes, I ended up loving these so much that I practically ate them every morning for breakfast, and then made a second batch just a couple days ago.  The best part of this recipe is how easy they are to make.  Take my word for it or give it a try yourself.  You will grow to love these.

Click HERE for recipe

